Western Washington Extends Title Streak to Five
Western Washington placed three in the top 10, including individual winner Kristen Hansen.
Western Washington placed three in the top 10, including individual winner Kristen Hansen.

Tuesday, April 21, 2015

COEUR D’ALENE, IDAHO – Kristen Hansen backed up an opening round 76 with another five-over par 76 Tuesday to win medalist honors and lead Western Washington to its fifth straight team title in the  Great Northwest Athletic Conference Women’s Golf  Championships presented by the Coeur d’Alene Resort.

Hansen posted a one-shot victory on the   5,914 yard layout over Northwest Nazarene’s Samantha Miller, who was the first round leader with a 74 before shooting a 79 Tuesday.

Western Washington freshman Jenn Paul tied for third, two shots back of Hansen, as the Vikings kept up their perfect record in the tournament since the GNAC added women’s golf as an official sport in 2011. In that time, Hansen is the fifth different WWU player to win medalist honors.

Paul, who carded rounds of 76 and 78, came into the tournament as the GNAC’s leading scorer with a 76.2 average.  Hansen was ranked third in scoring with a 77.8 average. 

Saint Martin’s Jennifer Liedes, the No. 2 scorer on the season coming into the tournament with a 76.6 average, tied Paul for third shooting rounds of 79 and 75.  Her 75 Tuesday tied Breanna Croxen of Simon Fraser for the low score of the day.  Croxen finished fifth overall with a 36-hole total of 156.

Defending individual champion Anna Bourland of Western Washington placed eighth with a 158 total, including an 80 in Tuesday’s final round.

WWU won the team title finishing 14 shots ahead of second-place Montana State Billings.  The Vikings, who took an 11-shot lead into Tuesday’s final 18, had a 627 team score, including a 316 in the second round.  MSUB had rounds of 322 and 319 for a 641 total.

Simon Fraser finished third with a 644 team score.  Northwest Nazarene was fourth at 660 and Saint Martin’s placed fifth at 663.

The NCAA will announce which teams advance to the regional tournament Monday at noon Pacific time on ncaa.com.