Ian Shoemaker Named Don Hansen Regional Coach of Year
Shoemaker led the Wildcats to an 11-1 record and the program's first GNAC champiosnhip in five season.
Shoemaker led the Wildcats to an 11-1 record and the program's first GNAC champiosnhip in five season.

Thursday, January 25, 2018

BROOKFIELD, Ill. – A total of 18 GNAC players and Central Washington head coach Ian Shoemaker have been selected by the Don Hansen Football Committee to the 2017 Don Hansen All-Super Region 3 Football Team.

Shoemaker was selected by the committee as the Super Region 3 Coach of the Year after he led the Wildcats to their first GNAC championship in five seasons. In his fourth season at CWU, Shoemaker led the team to an 8-0 conference record and just the third undefeated regular season record in conference history. Central Washington earned the No. 1 seed in Super Region 3 for the NCAA Division II Football Championship and ended the year with an 11-1 record.

In addition to the Don Hansen honor, Shoemaker was named by his peers as the 2017 GNAC Football Coach of the Year.

A total of seven of Shoemaker’s charges earned selections to the all-region team. They are led by three first-team defensive selections in senior defensive tackle Nicholas Aumua, senior linebacker and GNAC Defensive Player of the Year Kevin Haynes and junior cornerback Tyler Hasty.

Earning first-team offensive selections was Azusa Pacific wide receiver Weston Carr and Humboldt State running back and GNAC Offensive Player of the Year Ja’Quan Gardner, who was selected as an all-purpose player.

Western Oregon senior Paul Revis leads six second-team selections for the GNAC. Revis was actually named to the team twice, earning second-team honors at wide receiver and third-team honors as an all-purpose player for his return abilities. Also named to the second team was Humboldt State senior quarterback Robert Webber and senior offensive lineman Alex Cappa; and Central Washington senior tight end Kyle Self, junior offensive tackle James Moore and senior defensive end Bo Banner.

Third team selections for the GNAC include Azusa Pacific center Sakalaia Hungalu, senior defensive end Jason Schwartz and junior linebacker Aaron Berry; Central Washington sophomore offensive guard Nicholas Streubel, Humboldt State sophomore cornerback Davaeon Johnson and Western Oregon junior linebacker Bo Highburger.

The Don Hansen teams carry out the legacy of longtime small college football advocate Don Hansen, who passed away in 2010. Hansen started and published Don Hansen’s Weekly Football Gazette for three decades, selecting NCAA Division II All-America teams for the first time in 1988. Don Hansen’s Football Gazette began selecting Division II all-region squads in 2003.

First-team and second-team selections will advance to the national ballot for the Don Hansen Division II All-America Team.